My top5ive songs of the week

Okay.. so now that my first post is out of the way, and I’ve talked about what I want to accomplish with this blog, it’s time to jump in. Music for me is a life force. Music has always been my number one passion in life. I’m a musician, not professionally, mostly just a hobby. Truthfully my passion lies in listening to all different types of music, and sharing the good, and even the bad with people. I can get lost in song in the best way. The melody, the beat, the lyrics. All of it. So, I’m going to share my top 5 song picks of this week. Not all of the songs are necessarily new, some are just songs that I  recently discovered, or old favorites of mine. I have an internal rating system in which I tend to judge music by. I will briefly explain this, Basically I rate a song based on these 3 characteristics, the music, the lyrics, and the overall catchiness of the song. These songs will have no particular order.Please try to bear with me as I’m a little green in the blogging world, and as always enjoy the read.

Song #1  Places by Martin Solveig ft.Ina Wroldsen

I don’t really know much about this artist. I randomly found this song while scouring the Itunes dance chart, and it stuck with me. This song isn’t exactly new, it’s been out since last November, but it’s worth the listen. I give this song a 3 on my rating scale. The music is house/dance style, which I’m totally a fan of. The lyrics are not exactly the most meaningful, but it tells it’s own story, and it works well with the music. Lastly this song is hella catchy. I probably listened to it at least a dozen times that day, and it’s been on my rotation all week.

Song #2 Cold by Maroon 5 ft. Future

Okay, so unless you’ve been living under a rock you know of Maroon 5. This is their latest song. I think this song for me has some deep meaning. I’ve experienced this situation in the past, and it’s a difficult thing to go through. This song gave me goosebumps when I first heard it. It’s obviously about that feeling of drifting from a partner in a relationship. Just in case you needed to know that… As much as I love this song, I’m only giving it a 2. Most of my issue with this song is with Future being featured on it. I like Future, but I felt like his verse took away from this song for some reason. Anyway, I say this song is catchy, and a good listen.

Song #3 Follow you- Bring Me The Horizon

This is one of those strange instances that I discovered music through a friend. While riding in the car with my best friend,and her wife she played this song. Not really with the intention of me hearing it, but just because she enjoyed it. I honestly don’t know a lot of BMTH’s music. I know that this is from their 2015 album, and this song is GOLD. I spared posting the actually music video for this. One, because I can barely make it through the video due to the gore factor haha, but mostly because the lyrics are beautiful, and should be read. I give this song a 3.It has so much going for it, and I’m really surprised that this song isn’t more popular. It’s a catchy tune, and the music has an eerie, dark, alternative  feel.

Song #4 Both-Gucci Mane ft.Drake

I know, I know, this is completely switching gears from that last song, but that is the beauty of my love for music. It sometimes ends up in strange places. Okay, so I will start by saying that I have a love for Drake. I know many people hate him, and his music, and to each his own. I actually remember watching Drake on Degrassi. If you ever want a blast from the past, look it up. Moving on, I’ve been listening to Drake since he dropped his first mixtape. To me,he is really amazing at the art of reinvention. He is always doing something different, and that is the mark of a talented artist. Truthfully this song minus Drake would be a bust. It lacks a lot, and I’m only giving it a 1, due to it being somewhat catchy, and for Drake’s verse. The one part that gets me every time I hear it. He says”the power of the mind is not a joke.” He’s referencing where he started, basically he used to write about being successful while he was unsuccessful. Now he’s where he wants to be. I could get philosophical on this, but since it’s a Gucci Mane song, I won’t.

 

Song #5 Stay-Zedd ft. Alessia Cara

Hmmm…what can’t I say about Zedd? He is a brilliant musician, more talented than so many others. He’s humble, and is always doing an awesome collab with someone. I won’t go on forever about Zedd, but he’s definitely a favorite of mine. Anyway, this song is called Stay. Even though I love Zedd, I’m only giving this particular song a 2. It really didn’t catch me at first like his songs usually do. The music is great to this though, and the lyrical content (while not poetically deep) works for the music. It isn’t one of Zedd’s best, but it’s definitely worth lending your ears to.

Pheww, so that’s it. My top 5 songs for this week. If you’re still here at this point,thank you, and I hope you enjoyed the read. Please feel free to leave comments about this blog if you’d like. I’m very new to this, so any pro tips or advice is much appreciated. Stay tuned for more top5ives coming soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

